2009 Brazilian Delegation

Official visit of Brazilian Minister Sergio Rezende accompanied by a high-ranking scientific delegation

 September 28th and 29th 2009, Switzerland.

The Brazilian delegation was composed by :

  • M. Sergio Rezende, Minister of Science and Technology
  • M. Marco Antonio Zago, President, National Council for Scientific and Technological Development (CNPq)
  • M. Jorge Almeida Guimarães, President, Fundação da Coordenação de Aperfeiçoamento de Pessoal de Nível Superior
  • M. João Fernando Gomes de Oliveira, President, Institute for Technological Research of the State of São Paulo – IPT
  • M. Jacob Palis, President, Brazilian Academy of Sciences – ABC
  • M. José Monserrat Filho, International Affairs Advisor, Ministry of Science and Technology
  • M. Carlos Alberto Aragão de Carvalho Filho, Professor of Physics, Institute of Physics, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro – UFRJ
  • M. Roberto Lent, Director, Institute of Biomedical Sciences, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro  – UFRJ
  • M. Carlos Afonso Nobre, Director of the Earth System Science Center, National Institute of Space Research – INPE
  • M. Wanderley de Souza, Program Direction, National Institute of Metrology, Standardization and Industrial Quality – Inmetro

The main purpose of this delegation was the signature of the bilateral Agreement and Action Plan between the Swiss Federal Council and the Government of the Federative Republic of Brazil on Cooperation in Science and Technology.

The signing ceremony took place the 29th September in Bern. The agreement was signed by the Federal Councilor M. Pascal Couchepin on the Swiss side and by the Ministry of Science and Technology M. Sergio Machado Rezende on the Brazilian side. Among others, the ceremony was attended by Mauro dell’Ambrogio State Secretary for Education and Research, Prof. Patrick Aebischer, President of EPF Lausanne, Prof. Thomas Hinderling, Director of CSEM,  Hans-Ulrich Stöckling, President of Research Council of SNSF and Prof. Joel Mesot, Director of PSI .

During these two days, the delegation visited:

  • The CERN in Geneva
  • The ETHZ in Zurich
  • The EPFL in Lausanne
  • The CSEM in Neuchatel

They also met the representatives of

  • OPET (Office for Professional Education and Technology)
  • CTI (Commission for Technology and Innovation)
  • SNSF (Swiss National Science Foundation)
  • the Swiss Academies of Sciences